side navigation PERRP / On-Site
 forms
 contacts
 about LAWS
 search
Consumers Business License/Permit Holders & Applicants Other Government Agencies        







 
The Ohio Department of Commerce (ODOC) administers and enforces Ohio's Minimum Wage Laws, Ohio's Minor Labor Law, and Ohio's Prevailing Wage Law.

Bureau field staff conduct routine inspections of workplaces throughout the State. They provide information, ensure compliance with the labor laws, investigate complaints and consult with both employers and employees. The Bureau assists the public in understanding their rights and responsibilities under the wage and hour law, and pursues reported violations of the law. They also coordinate the activities of the field staff, standardize enforcement procedures and interpret the rules and regulations.


We are continually updating our site to serve you better. Please click here to see the most
recent changes to the web site.


  instructions

Public Authority Responsibilities
Prevailing Wage Complaints
Search page for new home page
Viewing Wage Rates

  espaņol - spanish

  Usted habla espaņol?

  question of the day

Qpic.gif (916 bytes) How many hours can a minor work per day / work per week?
 
APIC.gif (918 bytes) RESTRICTIONS FOR HOURS WORKED: 1. Minors under 16 years of age are prohibited from working: a. Before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. when school is in session b. Before 7:00 a.m. or after 9.00 p.m. when school is NOT in session or during a school holiday of five (5) or more days c. More than 3 hours in a school day d. More than 18 hours in a school week e. More than 8 hours a day when school is NOT in session f. More than 40 hours per week when school is NOT in session 2. Minors 16 and 17 years of age are prohibited from working, when school is in session: a. Before 7:00 a.m. Monday thru Friday b. After 11:00 p.m. Sunday thru Thursday

  search our site

  

business resources

Business.ohio.gov. . . making government accessible to you and your business. It's about government agencies working together to help you find the information and services you need to keep your business thriving in Ohio. It is another example of how state government in Ohio is committed to helping your business succeed.



  prevailing wage

Affidavit Of Contractor Compliance
Union Wage Affidavit
Prevailing Wage Contractor Responsibilities
Prevailing Wage Determination Cover Letter
Instructions For Preparing Certified Payroll Reports
Prevailing Wage Bid Tabulation Form

  minimum wage

Ohio Minimum Wage Laws
Ohio Handicapped Minimum Wage Law
Minimum wage poster
Federal Minimum Wage (USDOL)

  employment of minors

Ohio Minor Wage Law
Minor Labor Law Poster
Parent or Guardian Consent Form
Minor Wage Agreement
Prohibited Occupations for Minors
Quick Reference Guidelines For Employment Of Minors
Federal Minor Labor Laws (USDOL)

  labor and
  employment law


ORC Chapter 4115: Wages And Hours On Public Works (Prevailing Wage)
How do I file a minimum/Overtime or Minor Labor complaint
How to Contact Wage and Hour
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Ohio Revised Code Home
ORC Chapter 4109: Employment Of Minors
ORC Chapter 4111: Minimum Fair Wage Standards (Handicapped)
ORC Chapter 4111: Minimum Fair Wage Standards
Wage and Hour Division (Federal-USDOL)






  commerce home  /  forms  /  contacts  /  press room  /  feedback  /  privacy policy